Smart Commute Awards

Smart Commute Awards 2017

About the Awards

The Smart Commute Awards were introduced in 2007 to officially recognize workplace members and regional partners who have put forth exceptional effort implementing their Smart Commute program.  These awards acknowledge outstanding commitment, leadership, innovation and results.

From among the nominations submitted, an independent Awards Review Panel has selected the top workplaces for the Employer of the Year Awards, and from those finalists, a winner for the entire Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area (GTHA) was announced.

In addition, the Smart Commute Champion Award celebrates the accomplishments of an individual or group who has gone above and beyond and whose contribution has been integral to the success of a Smart Commute program anywhere in the region.

Finally, the Bike to School Week Awards acknowledge the outstanding work done to promote active and sustainable school travel across the GTHA for the 2017 Bike to School Week campaign, which took place from May 29thto June 2nd. All six regions were recognized for their accomplishments.

The awards were given out on November 23rd, 2017 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. Scroll down to learn more about the winners.

Thank you to our event sponsor TELUS for supporting active and sustainable travel in the region!


Awards Review Panel Members

We extend our gratitude to the expert panel of volunteers who evaluated all of the nominations:

  • Chris Burke– Director, Service Planning, Metrolinx
  • Christopher Wong– Director, Transportation and Master Planning, York University Development Corporation
  • Mike Driedger – Program Director, Scout Environmental
  • Rebekah Jackson-Gravely – Advanced Rehabilitation Therapist, Hamilton Health Sciences (2016 Regional Employer of the Year)

2017 Smart Commute Award Winners