Community in Motion Awards





The Community in Motion Award is an award to recognize members of the community who have made an effort to actively support and promote the use of healthy and sustainable forms of transportation such as walking, cycling, and public transit.

Community in Motion 2018

There are currently 8 reward categories that can be given to an individual, school, and business or organization that fosters a culture of active transportation within the City:

  • Bicycle Friendly
  • Pedestrian Friendly
  • Transit Friendly
  • School of the year
  • Advocate of the year
  • Advocacy Group of the year
  • Volunteer of the year
  • Innovative Bicycle Facility/Bicycle Parking Innovation

To submit a nomination to the Community in Motion Awards you will need to:

  • Complete our online nomination form
  • Send up to 5 images, illustrations or site plans that will help the jury understand the project

The 2018 award nominees must be submitted no later than March 1, 2019. Submissions can be filled out here.

Community in Motion 2017

Congratulations to the 2017 award winners!

Bicycle Friendly: Sonic Unyon & Evergreen Community Storefront

Pedestrian Friendly: Civicplan

Transit Friendly: Indwell

School of the year: Memorial Stoney Creek

Advocate of the year: Tom Flood

Advocacy Group of the year: Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board (HWDSB)

Volunteer of the year: Dave Stephens

Community in Motion 2016

Congratulations to the 2016 award winners!

Bicycle Friendly: New Hope Community Bikes

Pedestrian Friendly: Historia Building Restoration Inc

Transit Friendly: Mohawk College

School of the year: St. Marguerite d’Youville Elementary

Advocate of the year: Cycle Hamilton