Community Initiatives

Smart Commute works with transportation demand management (TDM) experts from the region’s municipalities to support initiatives related to TDM, land -use and development policy, transit, walking and cycling. The GTHA TDM Coordinating Committee is an important component of this collaborative role.

About the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area TDM Coordinating Committee


The purpose of the Transportation Demand Management Coordinating Committee (TDMCC) is to collaborate and coordinate transportation demand management and related activities across the region. The Committee seeks to inspire TDM professionals through knowledge sharing, support and encouragement of TDM innovation, and drives progress in establishing TDM as a foundational piece of planning, transportation and development in the GTHA.

Subcommittees meet as necessary to progress the committee’s work plan. Current subcommittees include:

  • TDM & Land-Use
  • Monitoring & Evaluation

Municipalities represented on the TDM Coordinating Committee include:

• City of Brampton • City of Vaughan • Town of Halton Hills
• City of Hamilton • Durham Region • Town of Milton
• City of Markham • Halton Region • Town of Newmarket
• City of Mississauga • Peel Region • Town of Oakville
• City of Oshawa • Town of Ajax • Town of Richmond Hill
• City of Toronto • Town of Clarington • Town of Whitby
• York Region


Please return in the future to find research, reports, links to regional resources, and additional information regarding Smart Commute’s work in delivering and coordinating community TDM.